565 Avenue New York, NY 00210     1-555-665-569

We are creative

Tag: Region Index

Region Index

Bangsamoro (BARMM / Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao)

By Tim Kehres

The Bangsamoro (the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao or BARMM) is an autonomous region located on the island of Mindanao in the southern Philippines. This region consists of five predominantly Muslim provinces Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. It is the only region in the Philippines that has its own government.

Caraga (Region XIII)

By Tim Kehres

Caraga (Region XIII or the Caraga Administrative Region) is made up of five provinces: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur. It is bounded on the north by the Bohol Sea; on the south by the provinces of Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro and Davao Oriental; on the west by Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental; and on the east by the Philippine Sea.

Soccsksargen (Region XII)

By Tim Kehres

Soccsksargen (Region XII) and sometimes locally shortened to just SOX is located in Central Mindanao. The name is an acronym that stands for the region’s four provinces and one of its cities: South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani and the city of General Santos. The region was previously called Central Mindanao. The region is bounded on the north by Northern Mindanao, on the east by the Davao Region, and on the southwest by the Celebes Sea.

Davao (Region XI)

By Tim Kehres

Davao (Region XI) is made up of five provinces – Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro and Davao Occidental. The province of Compostela Valley was renamed to Davao de Oro in 2019, but still exists on some maps and official websites (such as the map on this page). The region is touted as Mindanao’s center for trade and investments, being the home of several multi-national companies who established their hubs and branches in the region.

Northern Mindanao (Region X)

By Tim Kehres

Northern Mindanao (Region X) is made up of five provinces: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, and Lanao del Norte. It is blessed with natural wonders: large, protected forests, clear mountain springs and waterfalls, white sandy beaches, coral reefs and sheltered bays rich with aquatic life. This peaceful region is very accessible and a strategic location for trade.